User Tools

Cactus World News

Alternative Rock
Dublin, Ireland

“Cactus World News is an Irish rock band formed in Dublin in April 1984. Founded by Frank Kearns (guitar) and Eoin McEvoy (vocals), the first full stable lineup also included Wayne Sheehy (drums) and Fergal MacAndris (bass). They reformed in 2011 with a new lineup of Kearns, Sheehy and MacAndris, with Eoin Scott and Eoin Watkins. Their early influences were The Clash, Ramones, Talking Heads, U2, The Waterboys and R.E.M.

Their first release, and best known song was “The Bridge”, which was produced by U2's Bono, and released on their Mother Records label. They toured the UK with The Cult in 1985 and signed to MCA Records. They performed at the Self Aid concert in Dublin on 17 May 1986. The band released their debut album, Urban Beaches in 1986 and gained impact hits with its three singles: “Years Later”, “Worlds Apart” and a re-recording of “The Bridge”. The respected music reference site “” gave Urban Beaches 4.5 out of 5 All three singles reached the UK Singles Chart.[2] After their second album, No Shelter, was shelved in 1989, the band were released from their recording contract and underwent several personnel changes. MacAindris and Sheehy both quit in 1989. McEvoy and Kearns continued for a few more years, with various other band members coming and going, including Chris McGoldrick (bass), John Doyle (bass) and JJ Collier (drums).

After leaving Cactus World News, Sheehy went on to record and tour with Ronnie Wood, Bo Diddley, Robert Palmer, Michelle Shocked, Eric Burdon and The Animals, Carl Carlton, Hinterland, Dave-Id Busarus and Hothouse Flowers (appearing on both Born and Live). Sheehy currently plays with the Canadian songwriter Jeff Martin. Kearns (using the name Francis Xavier) released a solo album, Walking The Waves (2005), which featured both Sheehy and McEvoy.

It was announced in June 2011 that Cactus World News are to reform after 20 years (with the exception of Eoin McEvoy who has other commitments) in order to support Simple Minds in Kerry, Ireland on 30 July 2011.”



1985 The Bridge EP
1986 Urban Beaches MCA Records
1986 Years Later (single) MCA Records
1986 Worlds Apart (single) MCA Records
1986 The Bridge (single) MCA Records
1989 No Shelter
1989 Rebound (single) MCA Records
1989 Town Like This (single) MCA Records
1990 Don't Let Me Down (single) Rainbow

The Bridge EP

1985 Mother

Produced by Bono

  1. The Bridge
  2. The Other Extreme
  3. Frontiers

Urban Beaches

1986 MCA

Eoin McEvoy: Vocals, Guitar
Frank Kearns: Guitar
Fergal MacAindris: Bass
Wayne Sheehy: Drums

  1. Worlds Apart
  2. In A Whirlpool
  3. The Promise
  4. The Bridge
  5. State Of Emergency
  6. Years Later
  7. Church Of The Cold
  8. Pilots Of Beka
  9. Jigsaw Street
  10. Maybe This Time
  11. Cashen Bay Strand

Bonus Tracks on Expanded Edition 2001

  1. The Bridge (original EP version)
  2. The Other Extreme
  3. Frontiers
  4. Go Dti An Tra
  5. Tables Overturn
  6. State Of Emergency (RTE radio session)

Years Later (single)

1986 MCA

  1. Years Later
  2. Hurry Back
  3. Third One live (Pilots of Beka)
  4. Years Later (extended mix)

Worlds Apart (single)

1986 MCA

  1. Worlds Apart
  2. Cashen Bay Strand
  3. Worlds Apart (extended mix)

The Bridge (single)

1986 MCA

  1. The Bridge
  2. Tables Overturn
  3. The Bridge (live RDS Dublin 17/05/1986)
  4. Go Dti An Tra

No Shelter

1989 Unreleased
2003 release

  1. Window To Your World (3:33)
  2. Taste Of Mercury (4:00)
  3. Rebound (3:39)
  4. On The Run (4:42)
  5. Say Goodbye (4:49)
  6. Town Like This (3:39)
  7. Falling Sun (4:14)
  8. Sleep All Day (3:58)
  9. Volcano (5:06)
  10. Furious Love (3:43)
  11. Everytime (2:20)
  12. Memory Harbour (4:34)
  13. City Of Angels (4:05)
  14. Reconcile (3:56)
  15. Window To Your World (Demo Version) (4:17)

Rebound (single)

1989 MCA

  1. Rebound
  2. Reconcile
  3. Break on Through (live) (The Doors cover)
  4. City Of Angels

Town Like This (single)

1989 MCA

  1. Town Like This
  2. Volcano
  3. State Of Emergency (live)

Don't Let Me Down (single)

1990 Rainbow

  1. Don't Let Me Down
  2. Funny
  3. Furious Love (live)

Compilation Appearances:

Live For Ireland (1986):
07) The Bridge (live at Self Aid, RDS, Dublin 17/05/86) (4:19)

Melody Maker Vinyl Conflict EP (1986 Melody Maker):
02) Skin & Dust (3:12)