User Tools


Alternative Rock

The Huntingtons originally formed under the name Cricket in July of 1993, with Cliff Powell (vocals & guitar), Mike Holt (guitar), Mike Kepka (bass guitar) and Luke Keneske (drums).

The guys only played 5 shows together before the lineup was rearranged. This time, Cliff Powell stayed on vocals and guitar, but Mike Holt took up the bass guitar, Luke Keneske and Mike Kepka left the band and Mike Peirce joined to take on the job of the drums. Still named Cricket, these guys began their first studio recording in California, engineered by Randy Rose.

In the spring of 1994 Cricket was receiving regular airplay on WKDU, the radio station of Pennsylvania's own Drexel University. The station's playlist made it's way to the now defunct R.E.X. Music. An R.E.X. employee found the playlist and contacted the band through the deejay who had been playing the band's song. They were then asked to send in a demo of their material for label consideration. Several months after sending in the rough-mix-only demo engineered by Randy Rose, they received a call from the same R.E.X. employee who was now leaving R.E.X. to begin his own record label. He wanted then to sign with his new label and on September 10, 1994 Cricket became the first band to sign with Flying Tart Records. Their rough-mix-only demo was good enough to land the band a 5 album recording contract.

But then, the lineup changed again, with Cricket adding another bass guitarist named Marty Shneider. Mike Holt switched back to guitar from the bass guitar, but the rest of the band remained at their previous posts.

With this, the third lineup, the band went back into the studio to do some more demos with Chris Colbert. These demos didn't turn out too well, however. Flying Tart Records had hoped to put out these recordings someday, but now that The Huntingtons are no longer on that label, this will be impossible.

Soon after this recording, Marty Shneider left the band and Mike Holt took over lead vocals while retaining the role of bass guitar, Cliff Powell played all guitars, BGVs, and some songwriting. Mike Peirce stayed at drums. With this lineup the band started to lean towards a more punk-oriented sound.

The band was to begin recording their first album in early 1995. But, several huge blunders by the label prevented them from recording then and they were told that they would record soon. It would be another year before the band would finally be allowed to record their album. They recorded Sweet Sixteen in February 1996 (but it wouldn't be released until June of the same year, after the band was forced to change names).

In early 1996, Cricket began getting pressure from the estate of Buddy Holly for using the name Cricket, since there had already been a band called The Crickets. The band willingly changed their name, being as they hated the old name anyway.

This was a problem though. It was only two days before all information for the upcoming album, Sweet Sixteen, was to be mailed to the record company for promotion and distribution. The band had to come up with a new name fast. But all was not to be lost. Mike Pierce knew of a housing development called The Huntingtons, and the band thought it sounded like a cool name, so was to be new name of the band formerly known as Cricket.


1995 Joe Christmas Playing on the Stereo
1995 One Side Has Covers, The Other Side Doesn’t
1995 Brown Cow
199? Beans

Joe Christmas Playin' On The Stereo

1995 Independent

Cliff Powell: Vocals/guitars
Mike Holt: Bass
Mike Pierce: Drums

  1. Girlie Song #5000
  2. Dad
  3. Call It Luck
  4. When I Say Goodbye
  5. Minds
  6. Kite
  7. Home
  8. Not My Friends
  9. Colour
  10. Wrapped Around You
  11. If They Said
  12. Miserable Some
  13. Times
  14. Jet Plane
  15. Homer

One Side Has Covers, The Other Side Doesn’t

1995 Independent

Cliff Powell: Vocals/guitars
Mike Holt: Guitar
Marty Shneider: Bass
Mike Pierce: Drums

A note on the tape cover indicates that this tape was supposed to be released on Flying Tart Records, but did not happen. Some of the cover songs were released on various Flying Tart compilations.

  1. I Don't Think
  2. Coming Home
  3. I Don't Mind
  4. Mike's Girl
  5. Tonight
  6. Cryin'
  7. Couple Skate
  8. Makes Me Wanna
  9. We Got the Beat
  10. Suspicious Minds
  11. Merry Christmas, I Don't Wanna Fight

Brown Cow

1995 Independent

  1. Here, There, Anywhere
  2. That’s All
  3. Wrapped Around You
  4. Not My Friends
  5. Trust in Me
  6. If They Said
  7. Kite/Home
  8. Minds
  9. Dad
  10. Call It Luck
  11. Cryin', Cryin', Cryin'
  12. Jet Plane (Lifesavers cover)
  13. (I Can't) Depend on You
  14. Take It Away
  15. Miserable Sometimes
  16. Your Style
  17. [untitled]
  18. Summer of '69 (Bryan Adams cover)
  19. Coupleskate (Joe Christmas cover)
  20. Makes Me Wanna Sing / Reason for the Season (Stryper covers)
  21. We Got the Beat (The Go-Go’s cover)
  22. In the Ghetto / Suspicious Minds / Skinny Skins (Elvis Presley / Michael Knott covers)
  23. Merry Christmas, I Don't Wanna Fight (Ramones cover)


199? Independent