User Tools

Final Chapter

Power Metal
New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

With origins dating back to early- to mid-'80s acts Deus Vult and Divine Right, New Orleans, Lousiana's Final Chapter got its start around 1989, when guitarist Gary Wilson was driven to put together a new, more intense and resolute group of musicians. The band laid its foundation performing a mix of covers and originals around area bars, eventually solidifying its lineup with David Osbourn on drums, Paul Starnes handling bass duties, and frontman Andrew “Tripp” Whittington.

Drawing influences from an assortment of hard rock and metal — UFO, Kiss, Queensryche, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Exodus, etc. — as well as their Christian metal predecessors such as Stryper, Deliverance, and Tourniquet — Final Chapter forged an explosively diverse sound centered around hard-charging guitar riffs, a locked-in rhythm section, and Whittington's soaring vocal prowess. This ultimately landed the group a deal with WEI Records for the release of their lone six-song album, It Is Written, in 1991.

However — despite capturing the interest of Polygram subsidiary Jaguar Records — due to limited touring opportunities, managerial mishaps, burgeoning creative differences, and the changing landscape of the metal scene, Final Chapter had fallen apart before the end of 1992… thus unable to capitalize on the true potential of their songwriting firepower.

On the 25th anniversary of the original cassette release through WEI, Divebomb Records released an expanded edition of It Is Written. This release was sourced directly from the DAT master and digitally remastered alongside nine previously unreleased live bonus tracks. It was packaged with updated cover art by Steven Cobb, archival photographs straight from the band, and an all-new interview with founder Gary Wilson conducted by Olaf Becker. The band's name was also changed to Thee Final Chaptre.

Inspired by the success of the reissue of It Is Written, all four original members of Thee Final Chaptre felt moved to reunite and determine the outcome of creating new music together. Over four years later — and a whopping three decades since their debut — they released So Let It Be Done in 2022. So Let It Be Done was produced and engineered by Osbourn at SoundBourn Studio in Midlothian, TX.


1991 Final Chapter It Is Written WEI Records
2016 Thee Final Chaptre It Is Written (expanded edition) Divebomb Records
2016 Thee Final Chaptre So Let It Be Done

It Is Written

1991 WEI Records
2016 Divebomb Records

Trip Andrews - Vocals
Gary Michael Wilson - Guitars
Paul Starnes - Bass
David Osbohrne - Drums

  1. Day After Day (3:26)
  2. The Key (4:34)
  3. The Hallowed Hymn (8:56)
  4. Come as You Are (4:50)
  5. All for One (4:11)
  6. Don't Let It Run You Down (Thunder Trilogy Part One) (3:34)
Expanded Edition Bonus Tracks
  1. Just a Memory (demo)
  2. Blood in the Sand (live)
  3. Insane (live)
  4. Wisdom’s Call (live)
  5. Whisper to Scream (live)
  6. Edge of Sadness (live)
  7. Just a Memory (live)
  8. Bullet in the Chamber (live)
  9. Armageddon (live)
  10. Black Rain (live)

So Let It Be Done

2022 Independent

Trip Andrews - Vocals
Gary Michael Wilson - Guitars
Paul Starnes - Bass
David Osbohrne - Drums

  1. Re-Awakening
  2. So Let It Be Done
  3. The Key
  4. Tomb of Wrath
  5. Wisdom’s Call
  6. Day After Day
  7. The Edge of Sadness
  8. Into the Fire
  9. Just a Memory
  10. Blood in the Sand
  11. Whisper to Scream
  12. The Hallowed Hymn