User Tools

Quick and the Dead

Alternative Rock
Sydney, Australia

Quick and the Dead (formerly Danger UXB) were an Australian rock band who performed over 2000 live shows between 1985 and 1998, with a final reunion show in 2012. Made up of three brothers - Glen Powell (vocals, keys, trombone, harmonica), Darren (drums, vocals, trumpet) and Greg (guitar, vocals, sax), and their sister, Belinda (bass, vocals). The band timeline from Glen's website:

1985 – 1997: A big part of my formation as a songwriter was working with my brothers, Darren and Greg, and sister, Belinda, as professional musicians for 12 years (1985 to 1997) with two final gigs a year apart at the Blackstump Festival in 1998 and 1999. Over the years, our band was known by different names, including The Connection, Danger UXB, and Quick and the Dead. Our band played more than 2000 live performances in Australia’s live music scene, which gave lots of opportunities to try out new songs.

1985-1987: Our band started out playing (mostly my) original songs. We released a single (“Tomorrow”).

1988-1992: In this period we were working heavily in the Australian live music scene in pubs and clubs – often performing 4 to 5 times a week. We played about 80% covers, which helped me learn about different approaches to song-writing.

1993-1999: During this season, we were able to play primarily original music and had the opportunity to perform at festivals in Australia, UK and in Europe. The band released two albums (Womb, 1994; Burn, 1996) and an EP (Nothing, 1996). The band’s last two performances were a year apart at the Blackstump Music and Arts Festival in 1998 and 1999.

1997: Glen Powell released a solo album (No Secret Message), which was banned in Sydney’s main Christian music store for having “explicit lyrics” (See “Superglue”).

2012: Just for fun, and to give our kids (average age 10) some idea what their parents, aunt and uncles got up to, we “re-formed” for a surprisingly tight gig at the 2012 Blackstump Festival.


1995 Womb Terra Firma Records
1996 Burn Alliance Music
1996 Nothing


1995 Terra Firma Records (CDA10HYEH)

  1. River (4:01)
  2. Most Important Person (2:58)
  3. Bleed (3:24)
  4. Falling Star (3:41)
  5. Jesus was a Jew (2:50)
  6. Little Black Skirt (3:12)
  7. Tomorrow (3:42)
  8. Raining Again (4:17)
  9. My Love (3:45)
  10. Peace With the World (4:11)
  11. Find a Way (4:08)
  12. Elizabeth (4:05)
  13. Nice Boy in a Blue Dress (3:05)


1996 Alliance Music (ALD075)

  1. Mother (3:03)
  2. Oxygen (3:44)
  3. Forever (3:45)
  4. Next Big Thing (2:53)
  5. Great Australian Dream (4:12)
  6. Revolution'ry (3:10)
  7. Somebody Special (3:46)
  8. Shadow (4:30)
  9. Pray for Rain (4:20)
  10. Bulldozer (3:27)
  11. Suicide (3:40)
  12. Yawn (2:52)
  13. Silver (3:54)


1996 Independent

“This EP was recorded in the Netherlands in 1996. The first three songs were recorded live at the Flevo Festival. The other three were recorded in a studio.”

  1. Exercise Bike (live)
  2. My Love (live)
  3. Forever (live)
  4. You Thought
  5. Nothing
  6. God