User Tools


United States

Older Bio:

“Gadget has come to be known as Marc Plainguet's industrial alter ego. In 1987 Marc Plainguet began to become interested in trying a style of music he had only delved into a little. Inspired by early industrial music by groups like S.P.K.and Laibach he recorded Joyful Noize. Using no traditional instruments that would create melody or tonal scales, the music was crafted purely of noise elements, digital samples, and metallic percussion. What started as an experiment turned out to be considered one of the best industrial music recording ever done by a Christian in the late 1980s. Gadget was in fact the second Christian industrial musician in music history coming only after Blackhouse. In 1990, after a long absence in recording, Gadget returned with his follow up titled Gnashing Of Teeth and an expanded and more aggressive sound. Whereas Joyful Noize was largely improvised, Gnashing Of Teeth was tightly arranged. Now, after another long hiatus Gadget returned with a track on the compilation Electro Shock Therapy which is a heavily mechanical reworking of “Amazing Grace” with Francine Plainguet on vocals and work has just begun on the third (and final) Gadget project tentatively titled Cruel & Inhuman Practices.”

This third album was mentioned as being released in 1993 in the January/February 1992 issue of The Cutting Edge. At that time, Gadget was said to be evolving into more of a full band concept with the working name of Skeleton Soundworks.


Joyful Noize

1987 Corpqii Productions (CPCS-5)

Produced, written, and performed by Gadget

All Psalms read from the NIV Bible

  1. Armageddon
  2. Psalm 23
  3. Will Anyone Survive?
  4. Tranfiguration
  5. Psalm 46
  6. Psalm 102
  7. Knock! Knock!
  8. Train to Heaven
  9. Psalm 24
  10. Joyful Noize

“Under the moniker of Gadget, Plainguet recorded Joyful Noize and became one of the first Christians to be performing industrial music. Joyful Noize contained pounding rhythms, spacey soundscapes, and haunting renditions of the Psalms.”

“The highly acclaimed spiritual industrial noize debut of pounding rhythms and haunting machine soundscapes by one of the very earliest Christian musicians to venture into the world of industrial noise music. Gadget bangs, slams, crashes and screaches out 10 tracks of pure noise music. This is old school rhythm and noise industrial at its best!”

Gnashing of Teeth

1990 Corpqii Productions (CPCS-12)

All music and vocals performed by Gadget except #4 written and performd by sD7

All Psalms and Bible text read from NIV

  1. Birth 1
  2. Gnashing of Teeth
  3. The Plea
  4. Don't Give Up Now
  5. The Lord's Prayer
  6. Psalm 97
  7. Redemption Draweth Nigh
  8. Psalm 121
  9. Betrayal
  10. Armor of Light
  11. Birth 2

“Gadget returns with this darker, more aggressive and tightly arranged follow-up to Joyful Noize. Psalm readings to strange machine backgrounds, frenetic metal bangings, and apocalyptic audio recordings and samples round this out to one excellent and provocative cassette.”

“1990 saw the release of Gadget’s follow-up to the classic Joyful Noize titled Gnashing Of Teeth. The reaction was incredible. The cassette was praised as a new form of expression in Christian music and Gadget was hailed as 'the Keith Green of noize'.”


2021 Independent

Written, performed, produced and engineered by Gadget except…

“Crucifixion” and “Resurrection” co-improvised with Klinikman

Francine Plainguet - Vocals on “Amazing Grace”

  1. Golgotha (3:14)
  2. Crucifixion (11:57)
  3. Three Days in Hell (1:21)
  4. Resurrection (9:27)
  5. Ascension (3:09)
  6. Amazing Grace (4:57)

“Crucifixion” and “Resurrection” were first released online in 2013 as part of a project called Cruel & Inhuman Practices at the time.