User Tools

Mike / Bing Fütch

Alternative Electronic Rock

Official Bio:

With a big smile and a wild toss of his dreadlocks, Bing Fütch kicks off every performance with a buoyant energy that is inviting and energizing. Using Appalachian mountain dulcimer, Native American flute, ukulele, drums and electronic effects, he deftly navigates the varied waters of folk and pop with passion, wit and a genuinely huge heart for sharing music with a crowd.

Known for his musical shape-shifting, Fütch switches the channels on style with every new song, sung in a limber tenor voice and woven together with the other instruments. His casual way with any audience, coupled with a fierce originality on the lesser known mountain dulcimer, makes each show a one-of-a-kind and good-timing romp.

As a nationally touring solo performer he's headlined at such events as The Florida Folk Festival, Old Songs Festival, The Big Muddy, Kentucky Music Weekend and Common Ground On The Hill.

With a strong love for traditional music, Fütch has enjoyed a career on both sides of the folk and rock divide, first as guitarist for CCM post-punkers Crazed Bunnyz in 1986 and much later in 1999 as co-founder of Mohave on mountain dulcimer. That band, with bassist Mike Burney and drummer McGyver, took off after their debut performance at the House of Blues at Walt Disney World and over the course of the next seven years would become a crowd favorite and open for the likes of Molly Hatchet, St. Somewhere and The Crests.

In 2006, Fütch began performing solo at county fairs and festivals across the country, along the way opening for Grammy-award nominated artists Sam & Ruby, bluesman Scott Ainslie and sharing the stage with Grammy-award nominated act The Dixie Beeliners among others.

Fütch's music has been featured in film and video productions, video game soundtracks and exhibits at the Orlando Museum of Art. He was composer and musical director for “The Jungle Book: A Musical Adaptation” which ran for 66 shows at Stage Left Theater in Orlando, Florida. He also contributed music to the soundtrack of The Castle of Miracles at Give Kids The World Village in Kissimmee, Florida.

When not performing, Fütch can be found teaching music workshops at various festivals and colleges, presenting music education programs at schools and libraries and producing episodes of his video podcast “Dulcimerica” which has been viewed by over a million people worldwide and is currently in its eighth season. He lives in Orlando, Florida with his wife, Jae, and a menagerie of critters.“

In the April 1989 issue of The Cutting Edge, Fütch mentioned working on several projects that may or may not have been released:

  • A band called Occasional Fins: “It will either be a 'Mike Fütch pretending to be three people project' or a real band.”
  • Actively involved with a Chris Yambar book and tape project called The Voyage of Inner Man.
  • A Future Project called Hey D.

See also Crazed Bunnyz, Nutty Faith, Johnny Quest, Flavor Packet, and Fantasy Amidst the Storm.


1986 Mike Fütch Demo
1986 Castaway Castaway: Original Soundtrack, Part 1 Plan 7 Dist
1986 Mike Fütch Kansas (Castaway Part 2) Plan 7 Dist
1987 Mike Fütch Buy Dis Album Ore God Will Disconnect My Fone (Castaway Part 3) Plan 7 Dist
1987 Mike Fütch The Girl in the Book Plan 7 Dist
1987 Fütch 21 Plan 7 Dist
1988 Mikael Futch Farting Around
1989 Mike Fütch Fantasy Amidst The Storm
198? Mike Fütch Lifestyles of the Dull and Boring
1990 Mike Fütch Occasional Sins
1994 Bing Fütch 70 mm


1986 Independent

  1. Northern Lights
  2. Starman
  3. No Way
  4. Let Me Be the One
  5. (instrumental)
  6. In Libya

Castaway: Original Soundtrack, Part 1

1986 Plan 7 Dist (P7D-003)

Castaway (Mike Fütch) – All vocals and instruments

  1. Castaway (Main Title)
  2. The Void
  3. Technicolor Wreck
  4. Thundertown
  5. Dream of You
  6. Chill Me
  7. The Fall
  8. I Told U So
  9. The Mountain
  10. Castaway (Ending)

Kansas (Castaway Part 2)

1986 Plan 7 Dist (P7D-005)

Mike Fütch – All vocals and instruments

  1. Northern Lights
  2. She Missed the Point
  3. Kansas
  4. Human Being
  5. Still in Love
  6. Move Along
  7. Silent Running
  8. No-One Knows
  9. Hold On
  10. Miles and Miles

Buy Dis Album Ore God Will Disconnect My Fone (Castaway Part 3)

1987 Plan 7 Dist (P7D-007)

Written, produced, and performed by The Fütch Man

  1. Haunted
  2. Johnny
  3. S.E.M.
  4. i2eye
  5. Island Man
  6. Some People Just Don't Get It
  7. My Dream
  8. Save the Humans
  9. Andromeda Heart
  10. M'Lady

The Girl in the Book

1987 Plan 7 Dist (P7D-008)

Project executed by Mike Fütch

  1. The Girl and the Book
  2. 12/16/86
  3. Magic Kingdom
  4. What U Saw in Me
  5. 3:30 a.m.
  6. Off She Goes
  7. Weakness
  8. Pizza and the Decision
  9. Long Way Down
  10. Please B Mine
  11. The Girl and the Book


1987 Plan 7 Dist (P7D-010)

Fütch – Vocals, synthesizer, drum programs, dulcimer

  1. Strawberry Street
  2. Blue Eyes & Golden Dreams
  3. They Want to Kill Me
  4. Wake Up, It’s Night
  5. Love is Murder
  6. I Stand Accused
  7. Lori’s Theme
  8. Lifestyles of the Rich & Boring
  9. Green Pastures
  10. December Rain
  11. Wild Ride
  12. Dark City
  13. End of the Game
  14. Zone
  15. Memories
  16. 21

Farting Around

1988 Independent

Written and preformed by Mike Futch except for “Sukiyaka” by H. Hakamura

  1. Sukiyaka
  2. McDeath
  3. Your Counterculture
  4. Constellation
  5. 2day iz y Luv Sux
  6. Laugh
  7. Lonely Model in Blue
  8. Shenandoah
  9. Seargent's Song
  10. When I'm Near You
  11. Diana
  12. A Quinn-Martin Prod
  13. A Message for Dan
  14. Crazed Bunnyz - Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)
  15. Crazed Bunnyz Christmas Special

Fantasy Amidst The Storm

1989 Independent

Occasional Sins

1990 Independent


1994 Independent

  1. The Long Journey Home: 1994 (5:04)
  2. Happy Jaws (4:31)
  3. Lisa Faire (3:17)
  4. Lo, The King (4:00)
  5. Wandering Balladeer (4:21)
  6. Chris As John (2:44)
  7. O, Susanna! (2:56)
  8. Carnalville (Theme From Toastin') (3:48)
  9. Marryin' The Musik (6:10)
  10. How To Build A Castle (8:30)

“Described as “an electronic theater-hopping experience”, this instrumental album by Mohave founder Bing Fütch is a freewheeling excursion through a sonic landscape of moods, memories and magic. The CD is a partial showcase for five tracks that were written for the soundtrack of a children's attraction called The Castle Of Miracles at Give Kids The World Village in Kissimmee, Florida. “Four Faerie Tales” is a 16th century suite of Renaissance music while “How To Build A Castle” is a shape-shifting overture that plays like the final moments of a major motion picture.

The rest of the album is a progressively entertaining blend of heavy rhythmic synth-pop and new-age textures woven together in unusual arrangements. From the intergalactic cathedral sounds of “The Long Journey Home: 1994” to the hard-hitting arena groove of “Marryin' The Music”, Fütch weaves a dizzying web of musical layers and styles.