User Tools


Groove Metal
Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

Disciple is an American Christian metal and rock band from Knoxville, Tennessee, United States, formed in 1992. Since the band's formation, they have released 12 studio albums, 3 extended plays, 1 live extended play, and 1 compilation album.

Disciple was formed in December 1992 by high school friends Kevin Young, Brad Noah, Adrian DiTommasi, and Tim Barrett. The band played its first show in May 1993 at Topside Church of God in Louisville, TN and recorded its first three-song demo at Nightsong Studios with Producer Jesse Jones. Adrian DiTommasi left the band shortly after that for personal reasons, and Kevin Young would eventually take over the bass guitar duties. Later that year, Disciple recorded its first full length recording titled Trail of Tears at Nightsong Studios with Jesse Jones which was a cassette-only independent release. In 1994 the band recorded its second full length recording titled Lake of Fire which was also a cassette-only independent release recorded at Nightsong Studios with producer Jesse Jones.

In late 1995, Disciple released What Was I Thinking on their own independent label Slain Records. The album was produced by first-time producer Travis Wyrick, former guitar player of the band Sage. It was the first Disciple album available on CD and cassette. The band considered What Was I Thinking to be their real first album, and the previous recordings to just be “practice-runs.” In 1996, the band performed a Battle of the Bands show at the Electric Ballroom in Knoxville, TN in which Jeff Lysyczyn of Warner Bros. received a copy of the band's independent CD and a few months later talks began between the band and Warner Bros.

In 1997, Disciple signed with Warner Resound Records and on October 27, 1997, released its five-song EP, My Daddy Can Whip Your Daddy produced by Jeff Lysyczyn and Travis Wyrick. The band began touring non-stop in December 1997 and the band had their first No. 1 Rock Radio single on the Jamsline Rock Chart with the song “Fill My Shoes.”

In 1998, Disciple signed with Rugged Records with whom they released their second full-length album, This Might Sting a Little on June 1, 1999. This album garnered them two GMA Dove Award nominations and two No. 1 Christian rock hit songs with “I Just Know” and “Big Bad Wolf.” “I Just Know” was the most played song of 1999 on the Albuquerque, NM Christian radio station, KLYT, now known as Star 88.


1993 Demo
1993 Trail of Tears
1994 Lake of Fire
1995 What Was I Thinking? Slain Productions
1997 My Daddy Can Whip Your Daddy Warner Bros. Records
1999 This Might Sting a Little Rugged Records
2001 By God Rugged Records
2003 Back Again Slain Productions
2005 Disciple INO Records
2006 Scars Remain SRE Recordings
2008 Southern Hospitality INO Records
2010 Horseshoes & Handgrenades INO Records
2012 O God Save Us All Fair Trade Services
2016 Long Live the Rebels Tooth & Nail Records
2019 Love Letter Kill Shot Tooth & Nail Records


1993 Independent

Kevin Young - Lead vocals
Brad Noah - Lead guitar, backing vocals
Adrian DiTommasi - Bass guitar
Tim Barrett - Drums, backing vocals

Trail of Tears

1993 Independent

Kevin Young - Lead vocals, keyboard
Brad Noah - Lead guitar, backing vocals
Tim Barrett - Drums, backing vocals

Jesse Jones - Bass guitar
Adrian Ditomassi - Bass guitar

  1. The Darkness
  2. One More Soul
  3. Found a Way
  4. Reach Down
  5. In the Night
  6. Nowhere to Run
  7. Broken Heart
  8. Life
  9. Trust in You
  10. Trail of Tears

Lake of Fire

1994 Independent

  1. Can You Hear Me
  2. Lake of Fire
  3. My Love
  4. The Wedding
  5. Forgiven
  6. Kill the Old Flesh
  7. Stronghold
  8. Egotistical Willy
  9. Psalms 33:3
  10. Rain
  11. Bust You Up
  12. The Kitchen Song

What Was I Thinking?

1995 Slain Productions (55829)

Kevin Young - Lead vocals, bass, keyboards, songwriting
Brad Noah - Lead guitars, rhythm guitars, acoustic guitars, songwriting
Tim Barrett - Drums, songwriting

  1. Alone (4:57)
  2. Felt (3:10)
  3. Mothman (4:04)
  4. Crawl Away (5:20)
  5. One Drop (4:07)
  6. Stronghold (4:37)
  7. Praze You Lord (3:44)
  8. Presence (1:10)
  9. Sorry (4:36)
  10. Take Me (4:10)
  11. Why (4:31)
  12. Jeckyl & Hyde (4:16)
  13. Amazing Grace Blues (3:59)
  14. Going Home (3:44)
  15. Mercy (4:12)

My Daddy Can Whip Your Daddy

1997 Warner Bros. Records (9 46718-2)

Kevin Young - Lead vocals, bass, songwriting
Brad Noah - Lead guitars, rhythm guitars, songwriting
Tim Barrett - Drums, songwriting

  1. My Daddy Can Whip Your Daddy (3:17)
  2. Pharisee (3:44)
  3. Fill My Shoes (4:35)
  4. Fall on Me (3:12)
  5. Easter Bunny (3:24)

(to be continued)