Velvet Blue Music Announces 7″ Series Starting With Gold Beach

posted in: Music News | 0

New announcement from everyone’s favorite indie label VBM:

Velvet Blue Music has teamed up w/ two other lables : Spune and Tree Fall Sounds to release a series of 7″s this year. The first one up is from the Austin, TX based Gold Beach. It will be released digitally and as a limited edition 7″ on 2/28. It will be 2 tracks on beautiful white vinyl, and a total of 6 tracks on the download card.

The second 7″ . . . we’ll be making announcements about that one on Mon. !

Initially hailing from the Houston area, the principle songwriters of Gold Beach, Tony Daugherty and Michael Winningham, grew up on the same street. The two relocated to Austin and put the band together, which includes a plethora of regional talent, including: Jeremy Gomez (x-Mineral, the Glass Family), Carlos Orozco (x-Western Keys, Black Drum Set), Nicole Kern (x-Balmorhea), Evan Jacobs (Tacks! the Boy Disaster, Polyphonic Spree), Andy Sharp (Girling), and Henna Chou (x-My Education).

Since then, the band has been on a roll. They self released their first record which the Austin Chronicle called a “carefully crafted debut”, supported national bands such as Memoryhouse, Talkdemonic, Wooden Birds, Balmorhea and recently completed a Daytrotter session and Texas Music Matters/NPR included the band in their “Best of 2011” list. Needless to say, the band has been hard at work and will be recording new songs w/ producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, the Walkmen, Wye Oak) shortly.

More details and a free trac download can be found here.