User Tools

The American Culture eXperiments

Punk Rock
Waco, Texas, USA

“Though the band is over, we are still finishing up recording another ep of some new, burly punk for fun. Rooted in British anarcho-punk, surf, and reggae.

The American Culture eXperiments calls Waco, TX home. Our music is based in late 70’s, early 80’s punk; informed by British anarcho-punk, surf guitar and traditional reggae. Our song content leans toward the socio-political, dealing with themes of injustice, freedom, human alienation, abuse of power, deception and healing.

We have taken a purposefully independent approach over the years. Our debut full length was released in 2002 on Accidental Sirens, a label committed to art and integrity. Our second full length was released independently in May 2004.

We are active participants in the Waco Co-op, a collective of artists of different genres, all striving to create meaningful and creative music within the context of our relationship to each other.”


2002 The American Culture eXperiments Accidental Sirens
2004 The American Culture eXperiments

The American Culture eXperiments

2002 Accidental Sirens

Jason Himstedt – Guitars, Vocals, Bass on 4, 12
Jared Himstedt – Guitars, Vocals, Drums on 5
Laraine Carkhuff – Bass, Vocals
Justin Clark – Drums, Vocals, Electric Drums, Samples

All lyrics and music by The American Culture eXperiments

Produced by Allan Aguirre and The American Culture eXperiments

  1. Dead Duck (4:31)
  2. Why (2:59)
  3. Vomitorium Dormitorium (4:08)
  4. Talk (4:03)
  5. Better Way (3:23)
  6. Bite the Hand (4:53)
  7. Human Being (1:57)
  8. Control of the World (3:15)
  9. Freedom is a Luxury (5:59)
  10. Injustice (3:19)
  11. Sand in My… (5:55)
  12. Keep Me (3:33)
  13. Experiments (3:17)
  14. Lard Jesus (3:01)
  15. Waiting (4:09)

The American Culture eXperiments

2004 Independent

Jared Himstedt – Guitars, Vocals
Jason Himstedt – Bass, Guitars, Vocals
Justin Clark – Drums, Vocals, Electric Drums, Samples
Reeve Hunter – 2nd Guitar on last tour
Laraine Carkhuff – Bass, Vocals
Monte – Guitars, Vocals
Rob – ?

  1. Freedom in Part (3:58)
  2. Two Sides (3:36)
  3. Universal Injunction (Disparate Proportions) (4:31)
  4. Shut Up (7:09)
  5. Secret Places (6:07)
  6. BM3 (2:41)
  7. Waste Not Want Not (6:39)
  8. Segue (7:22)
  9. Progress (2:07)
  10. Feldspathic Romance (4:33)
  11. No Control (1:36)
  12. All Things in their Place (5:45)
  13. Pray Peace (8:47)
  14. Trail of Tears (7:45)

Compilation Appearances

Waco Co-op Fall 06 (2006 Independent)

06) Whose Walls (4:10)

Jared Himstedt: guitar, vocals
Jason Himstedt: bass, vocals
Justin Clark: drums, vocals

Mutinous Wonderflesh Vs The Body Under The HEAD: A Tribute To Blaster The Rocket Man (2008 Caustic Fallout)

19) American Werewolf (4:27)

Jared Himstedt: guitar, vocals
Jason Himstedt: bass, vocals
Justin Clark: drums vocals