User Tools

Site Tools



Industrial Metal

“Chatterbox also styled as CHATTERbOX was a project of The Crucified's Jeff Bellew. The project has hosted many session musicians, including Stavesacre and The Crucified's Mark Salomon, and Argyle Park and Circle of Dust's Scott Albert. Bellew has also played on Argyle Park's album Misguided, along with Salomon, Dirk Lemmenes (of Focused and Stavesacre), and multiple other musicians.” (from


1994 Despite Tooth & Nail Records
1999 The Nothing Inside You Rotting Audio Music


1994 Tooth & Nail Records (TND 1007)

Jeff Bellew - Arrangements, Throat] Guitar, Bass, Samples, Noise
Scott Albert - Producer, Sonic Manipulations, Backing throat on #4 and 7, Additional Guitar on #6
Mark Rodriguez - Co-producer
Rev. L.D. “Brother” Moss - Raw Sample Fuel
Chris Reid - Percussion, Additional guitar and bass on # 10
King Salomon - Percussion, Lead Throat On 2nd Half on #9
Pidgeon John - Percussion
Garret Morgan - Additional Guitar on #2, 7 and Chorus Throat on #2
Jack W. Bellew - Narration on # 3
John Stewart - Backing Throat on #4
Cbx Choir on #7: Chris, Garrett, Jake Landrau, Scott

Lyrics by Jeff Bellew (#1 to 9), Chris Reid (#1), King Salomon (#9), and Jimmy Davis (#10)
Music by Jeff Bellew
Mis-assembled and De-composed by Jeff Bellew (#5, 8, 10) and Scott Albert (#5, 8, 10)

  1. Torque (4:26)
  2. Empty (6:09)
  3. Fallen (5:55)
  4. Spine (5:13)
  5. Internal (0:30)
  6. Soulscum (4:26)
  7. Divide (3:44)
  8. External (3:49)
  9. Epignosis (5:28)
  10. Sunshine (11:12)
  11. Still (9:54)

The Nothing Inside You

1999 Rotting Audio Music (ROT008)

Industrialized punk-metal. Recorded in various places on various machines of varying quality. Drum-machines, fuzz bass, overdriven guitars, pounds of feedback and heavily processed vocals.

This Chatterbox CD is a collection of demos recorded prior to “Despite”. The first 3 tracks were recorded at Mortal's studio. I got to watch. The next five tracks were recorded by Jeff, Garrett Morgan and myself on my 4-track at Garrett's house. I think I did some yelling and/or noise here and there. I think these were recorded prior to the Mortal demos, but maybe not. This would've been circa 93, so you'll forgive my poor memory. :) The next two songs are just Jeff and I (he on guitar and me on drums), recorded in the ex-Crucified House. The last credited song is just me, it was something I recorded for Jeff that he decided not to use. There's also a “hidden song” at the end that was recorded in my garage with Jeff, Christmas of 92.

- Chris Reid 2002

What eventually became Chatterbox was conceived sometime in 1991-92 by Jeff Bellew during a conversation with Chris Reid about the current state of what the kids were calling industrial music. Jeff then proceeded to record a quick demo on Greg Minier's 4-track with Chris hollering on an early version of Without God/Divide (Sadly, that tape has been lost to the ashes of time…). He then gathered together enough songs to record a proper set of demos at Mortal's studio and another batch of 4-track recordings, and went got himself a deal with Tooth And Nail. After a less-then-stellar tour (I've seen the footage), Jeff put Chatterbox away to become the additional guitarist for a little combo called Stavesacre. He's currently living with his family in the witness protection program.

Jeff Bellew
Chris Reid
Garrett Morgan

  1. Without God (3:48)
  2. Soulscum (4:19)
  3. Sunshine (8:01)
  4. The Empty (6:23)
  5. Fallen (6:12)
  6. Numb (7:28)
  7. Torqued (4:00)
  8. Epignosis (4:42)
  9. Stump Puller (3:25)
  10. Thud (4:37)
  11. Theme (9:51)

chatterbox.txt · Last modified: 2019/01/19 03:04 by admin