User Tools

Table of Contents


Heavy Metal
Gurnee, Illinois, USA

This band was first formed under the name “Morning Star” in 1981, and later changed name to “Contender.” Primarily a Christian pop rock band until a later reconfiguation of members to a Christian metal format.


1985 Contender
1988 Demo


1985 Independent

Leia Thomas – Vocals
Dan Thomas – Vocals
Ken Stilley – Guitars
Rick Rusico – Guitars
John Pennell – Bass
Rick Sonblud – Drums

  1. No Secret Mission
  2. Time Bomb
  3. Sonrise
  4. Deceiver
  5. Ready or Not
  6. I Feel Good
  7. Missing Link
  8. Two Directions


1988 Independent

Leia Thomas – Lead vocals
Ken Stilley – Guitars
Dan Thomas – Guitars
Mike Dippel – Bass
Dave Mobile – Drums

  1. Don’t Do It
  2. Guilty of Love
  3. Serpent Slayer
  4. Kiss Me Not