User Tools

This is an old revision of the document!

Jan Krist

Folk Rock
Detroit, Michigan, USA

Jan Krist is an American singer-songwriter from Detroit, Michigan whose music is primarily folk. In 1993, Jan was a New Folk Finalist at the Kerville Music Festival for her songs titled “Someone” and “Daisies in a Bowl.” Jan is married to Alan Finkbeiner. Jan is a founding member of the Yellow Room Gang (YRG), a songwriting collective centered in South-East Michigan. She often performs with fellow YRG member Jim Bizer.


1991 Decapitated Society Airborne Records
1992 Decapitated Society R.E.X. Music / Storyville Records
1992 Love is not to Blame Kingsway Music
1992 Wing and a Prayer R.E.X. Music / Storyville Records
1996 Curious Silent Planet Records
1999 Love Big Us Small Silent Planet Records
2000 See Stone EP Silent Planet Records
2001 Outpost of the Counter-Culture Silent Planet Records
2002 Wounded Me, Wounded You Silent Planet Records
2004 When Planets Collide Outpost Records
2010 Fallow Ground Yellow Room Records

Decapitated Society

1991 Airborne Records
1992 R.E.X. Music / Storyville Records (7901429216)
1992 Kingsway Music (KMCD651) (as Love is not to Blame)

Janet Krist – Guitars, simple percussion, backup vocals
Paul Murphy – Guitar Lead on #1
Terry Birkett – Guitar Lead on #2
Mark Covertt – Bass
Don Gulish – Drums
Paul Irwin – Synth
Dee Dee Tibbits – Hammered Dulcimer
Amy Krist – Backup vocals
Maggie Shultz – Backup vocals

Produced by Janet Krist and Ron Moore

  1. Someone
  2. Is the Light Burning?
  3. Shine
  4. Kindness
  5. Honey Moon
  6. Rain
  7. Love is not to Blame
  8. Carry Me Back
  9. Decapitated Society
  10. Dancing in the Graveyard
  11. Can't Close My Eyes

Wing and a Prayer

1993 R.E.X. Music / Storyville Records (STO 5000)

  1. Put Her to the Test
  2. Crying Ice
  3. Wing and a Prayer
  4. Waltz With You
  5. The Dishes
  6. Snowman
  7. Daisies in Your Bowl
  8. Got Me Runnin'
  9. I Own My Part
  10. Patterns in the Sky


1996 Silent Planet Records (SPR0101)

  1. Time
  2. Mercy
  3. Works Of Love
  4. Jonah And Geppeto
  5. Widening Sky
  6. Walking Wounded
  7. Curious
  8. Hold On Me
  9. Someone
  10. Angel Baby
  11. Gravity

Love Big, Us Small

1999 Silent Planet Records (SPRD102)

  1. Song of Absolutes
  2. Tarzan Tells All
  3. Put Her to the Test
  4. Daisies in Your Bonet
  5. Spirit So Big
  6. Rain
  7. Waits With You
  8. Someone
  9. Shine
  10. Love is not to Blame
  11. I Own My Part
  12. Wing and a Prayer
  13. Patterns in the Sky
  14. Snowman
  15. Decapitated Society
  16. Got Me Runnin'
  17. Can't Close My Eyes
  18. God Have Mercy

See Stone

2000 Silent Planet Records ‎(SPR 0104)

  1. Someone to Watch Over Me (5:11)
  2. Thank You (3:59)
  3. Broken Glass (4:39)
  4. Good Enough (5:01)
  5. Parallel Universe (3:36)

Outpost of the Counter Culture

2001 Silent Planet Records (SPR0105)

  1. Outpost of the Counter Culture (Hometown)
  2. All I Can Change
  3. My Love (My Heart Knows)
  4. Good Enough
  5. Extraordinary
  6. Bent and Broken Reeds
  7. Thank You
  8. Waiting for the Cosmic Shoe to Fall
  9. Someone to Watch Over Me
  10. Try Anyway