User Tools

Johnny Q. Public

Alternative Rock
Springfield, Missouri, USA

Johnny Q. Public was a Christian alternative rock band from Springfield, Missouri. Although their sound was modern, it was influenced by bands such as Led Zeppelin and Cream. In addition to their music they were known for their Charismatic theology, which they would dramatically display through audience participation at their live shows.

When Johnny Q. Public signed to Gotee Records, its members were between the ages of fifteen and twenty-three. Their signing came after producing a demo with Steve Griffith (of Vector fame). Their debut record, Extra*Ordinary, was released in 1995 and garnered the band mainstream distribution through Elektra Records. Dan Fritz would later refer to the period after releasing Extra*Ordinary as a “whirlwind of craziness.” Their song “Body Be” gained them national exposure when its video got picked up by MTV. They toured for three years before being able to pursue a second album, and during that time the band experienced some personnel changes. Around 1998 guitarist Oran Thornton married Christian artist Miss Angie, sister of guitarist Shawn Turner, and moved on to a band called Flick. Drummer Brian DuVall also left and was replaced by Nate McCorkle, former drummer for Morella's Forest.

Their follow-up record, Welcome to Earth, was released by both Gotee and Roadrunner Records. Its sound shifted toward pop with hints of hard rock. HM magazine likened it to the Newsboys, stating that the band could easily receive radio play in both Christian and mainstream markets. In support they toured with Bleach and Skillet.

Johnny Q. Public broke up in mid 2001.


1994 As I Pray
1995 Extra*Ordinary Gotee Records
2000 Welcome to Earth Gotee Records / Roadrunner Records

As I Pray

1994 Independent

  1. Kingdom Come
  2. As I Pray
  3. House of Glass
  4. You're All I Need
  5. Father is Love
  6. Small Town Girl
  7. Pro-Life
  8. Too Many Heartaches

Extra Ordinary

1994 Gotee Records (701 3821-888)

  1. Preacher's Kid (3:59)
  2. Body Be (3:54)
  3. Black Ice (3:52)
  4. As I Pray (3:23)
  5. Know (4:54)
  6. Women of Zion (2:50)
  7. Reader's Digest (4:48)
  8. Secret Trees (3:40)
  9. Violet (2:57)
  10. Big Top (2:50)
  11. Why (3:06)
  12. Scream (5:50)
  13. Serve Somebody (6:51)

CD versions of this album contain a pre-gap song - an acoustic cover of “Father Abraham.”

Welcome to Earth

2000 Roadrunner Records / Gotee Records (GTD2828)

  1. Silver
  2. Body Be
  3. Already Gone
  4. What Am I
  5. Move
  6. Violin Song
  7. P.K.
  8. Hey Johnny
  9. Talk Show
  10. Beautiful Face
  11. Today
  12. Welcome to Earth