User Tools

Liberation Suite

San Marcos, Texas, USA | London, England, United Kingdom

Liberation Suite (sometimes LibSuite) was a Jesus Music era Christian rock band. They originated in San Marcos, Texas but soon moved to Great Britain, where they found their greatest success. Cross Rhythms characterizes the band as having a “special relationship” with the United Kingdom and a straightforward approach to music and ministry. Typical of Jesus music, they played songs in a variety of styles including country, new wave, and rock.

Liberation Suite formed early in the Jesus Music era, prior to 1971 in San Marcos, Texas. The group got their start as a backup band for a choral group called Sound 70 based in San Marcos, Texas, but began traveling with evangelist Bill Lowery and the Christ is the Answer tent ministry in 1973.

In 1974 they moved for six months to Northern Ireland, which was at that time war-torn by The Troubles. Here they ran what was essentially a street concert ministry, as well as playing many concerts in schools, colleges, and large concert halls. During this time they also played at the inaugural Greenbelt Festival in England. They then moved to London after being signed to Word Records' Myrrh Records label. Throughout 1975 the band toured with Malcolm and Alwyn, Barry McGuire, and Jamie Owens. In 1976 they toured Europe with Chuck Girard before moving back to Texas until 1979, when they relocated to Los Angeles.

During a brief reunification period in 1980 they recorded their second album, Stride for Stride, and again toured Europe. They moved back to Texas in 1981, members moving into other types of ministry or work, regrouping from time to time for a few concerts or recording. Several other versions of the band lineup toured parts of America and Europe, and recorded in 1990–92.

In 2008 they released Live in Europe, a live concert from 1976, recorded in Sweden.

“Long before Christian ska, there was Liberation Suite, incorporating brass with hard-rocking Jesus music, first in the Texas hill country, and then in war-torn Northern Ireland and the British Isles. LibSuite, as they were usually called, was one of two important Christian groups to be part of the Texas Jesus movement. In the mid ‘70s – years before ArkAngel, much less King’s X, were on the scene – it was just Liberation Suite and Hope of Glory in the Lone Star State. LibSuite’s sound was likened to Chicago Transit Authority at the time (i.e., to the rock band that did “I'm a Man” and “Beginnings,” not to the abbreviated adult contemporary remnant that later did all those “Hard for Me to Say I’m Sorry” pop songs). Indeed, Liberation Suite regularly performed “Where Do We Go from Here?” in their concerts, along with blistering versions of the Doobie Brothers' “Jesus is Just Alright” and Eric Clapton's “Presence of the Lord.” Their first album remains one of the most important – and one of the best – contributions of the era.”

-The Encyclopedia of Contemporary Christian Music By Mark Allan Powell


1975 Liberation Suite Myrrh Records
1981 Stride for Stride Chapel Lane / Star Song Records
1990 Water and Blood Spark Music
2002 Fight for the Light Suite Dreams Records
2000 Liberation Suite (25th anniversary edition)
2008 Liberation Suite: Live in Europe

Liberation Suite

1975 Myrrh Records (MYR 1027)

Howard Lyon - Trombone, harmonica, vocals
Paul Lyon - Trumpet, flute, french horn, vocals
Barry Bynum - Guitars, keyboards, Moog and string synthesizers, vocals
David Bynum - Bass guitar, alto saxophone, vocals
Randy Hill - Drums, congas, vocals

  1. Led to Roam (2:48)
  2. Run, Run, Lucifer (4:43)
  3. My Lord is a Remedy (3:06)
  4. Oh Lord, You Know (That I Feel So Fine) (4:07)
  5. Reachin' for the Sky (4:18)
  6. More Than a Matter (3:58)
  7. Presence of the Lord (4:21)
  8. Hearken (5:52)
  9. I Wanna Be With You (3:59)
25th anniversary edition bonus tracks
  1. Interview (3:02)
  2. I Wanna Be With You (live) (3:53)

Stride for Stride

1981 Chapel Lane (CLS 8002) / Star Song Records (SSR 0038)

Barry Bynum - Lead vocals, guitar, keyboards
Howard Lyon - Lead vocals, trombone
Jim Hazel - Guitar, keyboards, vocals
Fred Perez - Bass guitar, vocals
Randy Hill - Drums, vocals

  1. Lay Your Sadness Down (4:41)
  2. Stride for Stride (5:00)
  3. Listen (2:10)
  4. How Do I Get to You (3:59)
  5. Heal the Broken Hearted (4:19)
  6. Somehow I'm Changing (2:35)
  7. All I Wanna Do (4:25)
  8. You are Worthy (6:03)
  9. Where My Home Is (4:37)
  10. Song of Heaven (2:30)

Water and Blood

1990 Spark Music (SK 7007)

Howard Lyon - Lead vocals, backing vocals
Barry Bynum - Lead guitar, bass guitar, rhythm guitar, lead vocals, backing vocals, keyboards
James Yager - Keyboards, backing vocals
Jim Hazel - Bass guitar, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Randy Hill - Drums, lead vocals, backing vocals

  1. Talk to You (4:30)
  2. Crystal Tears (4:05)
  3. The Warming Light (4:27)
  4. Raging Heart (2:30)
  5. The Distance (5:55)
  6. Emerald Isle (4:00)
  7. All Things New (3:05)
  8. Climbing Up (This Time Around) (4:05)
  9. Everyone's a Moon (4:40)
  10. Run Lucifer II (3:50)

Fight for the Light

2002 Suite Dreams Records (1004)

Jim Hazel - Guitar, vocals
Howard Lyon - Trombone, vocals, harmonica
James Yager - Keyboards
Matt Sutherland - Bass, vocals
Randy Hill - Drums, vocals, percussion

  1. Oh Lord You Know (That I Feel So Fine) (3:31)
  2. Fight for the Light (4:59)
  3. Babes & Fools (4:16)
  4. One Word (5:05)
  5. Little White Building (5:42)
  6. Angel of Light (6:20)
  7. To Serve Mankind (5:10)
  8. Palm of Your Hands (4:57)
  9. Cold Front (3:46)
  10. Sittin' & Thinkin' (3:57)
  11. Tried & True (4:54)
  12. Little Bit of Heaven (4:14)
  13. Were You There (3:58)
  14. Don't Forget Love (5:21)

Liberation Suite: Live in Europe

2008 Independent

  1. Intro (2:30)
  2. Clear Day (4:51)
  3. I Want to Be with You (3:49)
  4. My Lord is a Remedy (5:53)
  5. Don't Blame It on God (4:36)
  6. Stevie Houston-Intro (1:01)
  7. Living Loving Eyes (5:59)
  8. Your are Worthy (6:10)
  9. Make a Noise (4:07)