User Tools

Mr. Smarty Pants

Punk / Ska
Turlock, California, USA

Mr. Smarty Pants was formed in Turlock, California in 1997 with an initial lineup consisting of Josh Jeter and Jason Johanson on guitar, CJ Park on bass guitar, Tim Hawkinson on drums, Matt McFarlane on trumpet, Jason “Elvis” Ellis on saxophone, and Bruce Freeby on lead vocals. Ellis later transitioned from saxophone to bass guitar, and Eric Gonsalves replaced Hawkinson behind the drum kit. Trombone duties were handled briefly by Lydio Banaña, then later Bergann Montes and Jason Johanson (transitioning from guitar). Due to a stipulation in band bylaws that at least two Jasons must be present at all times, Jason “Vengeance” Risen was added on saxophone (and later guitar) as Jason Johanson took a step back to become an occasional rather than constant member. Jordan Venema (guitar), Adam Morgan (saxophone), and Rhett Stonelake (baritone sax) all saw time in the big show as well. They released two demo tapes, Skank You Very Much and I See London, I See France, I See Mr. Smarty Pants, and their sole album, Smartworld, on their own Thin Safety Pin Records in 1997, '98, and '99, respectively. The band played a farewell show entitled Save the Last Pants for Me on Cinco De Mayo of 2000, with several members going on to form The Ultimate Skateboard.


1997 Skank You Very Much Thin Safety Pin Records
1998 I See London, I See France, I See Mr. Smarty Pants Thin Safety Pin Records
1999 Smartworld Thin Safety Pin Records

Skank You Very Much

1997 Thin Safety Pin Records

Bruce Freeby - Vocals
Josh Jeter - Guitar, alto sax, BGVs
Jason Johanson - Guitar, sousaphone, BGVs
Jason “Elvis” Ellis - Bass, tenor sax, BGVs
Matt McFarlane - Trumpet
C.J. Park - Bass
Bergann Montes - Trombone
Tim Hawkinson - Drums, BGVs, laughing

  1. Ego Trip
  2. Living Dead
  3. One Eyed Sailor Man
  4. Lime Green Nail Polish

I See London, I See France, I See Mr. Smarty Pants

1998 Thin Safety Pin Records


1999 Thin Safety Pin Records

  1. Sometimes I'm Stupid (2:26)
  2. Nintendo Girl (2:39)
  3. I Don't Want to Be a Goat (2:31)
  4. Kung Fu! I Dig You! (1:46)
  5. Tuesday (2:33)
  6. G.I. Joe (1:51)
  7. Whitewash (2:25)
  8. T.S.C. (2:01)
  9. Mr. Turtle (2:04)
  10. Duffel Bag (3:56)
  11. Lime Green Nail Polish (1:54)
  12. Stand by Me (4:01)
  13. Cheeseburger Song (4:31)
  14. “This Is What We Call Nasty Rock” (0:59)
Reissue Bonus Tracks
  1. Living Dead [bonus track] (3:46)
  2. One Eyed Sailor Man [bonus track] (2:43)
  3. Ego Trip [bonus track] (3:46)
  4. T.S.C. (Bad Grammar Version) [bonus track] (2:48)
  5. Lime Green Nail Polish (Funk Version) [bonus track] (2:08)
  6. Monica [bonus track] (2:47)