User Tools

Site Tools


Pop Unknown

Emo / Post-Punk
Austin, Texas, USA

Pop Unknown is an American rock band from Austin, Texas formed in 1997 by ex members of Mineral (Gabe Wiley) and Tim Lasater of Feed Lucy. They released their debut EP Summer Season Kills in 1999 and followed it with their first full-length album If Arsenic Fails, Try Algebra later that year both on Deep Elm Records. Between 1997 - 2002, Pop Unknown toured the US over a dozen times and found a welcome audience in Europe, playing shows in Germany, Italy, France, Spain, Austria, Switzerland, Sweden, Belgium, the UK among others. In 2002 they released a second album titled The August Division on now defunct Sessions Records. In 2003 the 4 of the members of Pop Unknown founded a side project called Kissing Chaos'which became the primary band and Pop Unknown was ended.

The four members of Pop Unknown that made up the band Kissing Chaos (Joel, Gabriel, Matt and Erick) played many shows and toured the U.S. After releasing an EP the band called it quits.

Singer Tim Lasater went on to form The Cutaway in the US. After releasing their debut EP Ready For The Fall, The Cutaway – not to be confused with the UK band of the same name – toured extensively in the Texas region and the US, but called it quits after drummer Ed Davis left to play with Juliette Lewis and the Licks.

Pop Unknown was also one of the possible bands considered for inclusion on the never completed third volume of the Art Core compilation series on Tooth & Nail Records. Drummer Gabe Wiley is the brother of Tess Wiley, and even played with her in Phatasmic.


199? Demo
1999 Summer Season Kills Deep Elm Records
1999 Pop Unknown / Sunfactor (split) Year 3 Thousand
1999 If Arsenic Fails, Try Algebra Deep Elm Records
2000 Pop Unknown / Sometree (split) SNC Empire / Love.Serenade.Production
2001 The Illegal Release Tallest Tower Music
2002 The August Division Sessions Records


199? Independent

  1. Writing It Down for You
  2. Ink + Paper
  3. Jr. High Hazing
  4. Sunday Gone

Summer Season Kills

1999 Deep Elm Records (DER-371)

Tim Lasater - Vocals, guitar
Joel Ganucheau - Guitar
Shane Wells - Bass
Gabe Wiley - Drums

  1. Follow You (6:12)
  2. This Guy's Ready For Bed (3:23)
  3. Your Own Personal Wedding (2:54)
  4. Ink & Paper (4:02)
  5. Tipping the Scale (5:48)

Pop Unknown / Sunfactor (split)

1999 Year 3 Thousand ‎(YR3001)

  1. Pop Unknown - Sunday Gone (4:35)
  2. Sunfactor - Fall In New England (4:45)

If Arsenic Fails, Try Algebra

1999 Deep Elm Records ‎(DER-382)

Tim Lasater - Voice, guitar
Joel Ganucheau - Guitar, backing vocals
Matt Breedlove - Guitar
Casper Eckols - Bass
Gabriel T. Wiley - Drums

Produced by David Valley and Pop Unknown

  1. Head in the Sand (3:42)
  2. Half if Ninety (4:03)
  3. An Offering (5:32)
  4. Last to Know (2:36)
  5. Lonely Here With Me (4:12)
  6. Tattoo Your Image (On the World) (4:39)
  7. Fallen Star (5:21)
  8. Hanging on a Thread (6:35)
  9. Perfect in Venice (3:25)
  10. Oh Kay (4:34)
  11. Forward = Rewind (5:08)

Pop Unknown / Sometree (split)

2000 SNC Empire (09.1) / Love.Serenade.Production (#002)

  1. Sometree - Tramor
  2. Pop Unknown - Alexander Supertramp

The Illegal Release

2001 Tallest Tower Music

  1. That Was Then
  2. This is Now
  3. The Invisible Complex

The August Division

2002 Sessions Records ‎(SES026)

Tim Lasater - Vocals, keyboards
Joel Ganucheau - Guitar, vocals
Matt Breedlove - Guitar, vocals
Casper Eckols - Bass
Gabriel Wiley - Drums

  1. Another Holiday (2:55)
  2. The Invisible Complex (3:02)
  3. As God and Everest (5:23)
  4. Hydroplane (3:17)
  5. Whatnot (0:10)
  6. B-Sides (3:08)
  7. Morphine (4:08)
  8. Contact (5:25)
  9. The Next Big Thing (2:33)
  10. In Spite Of (2:53)
  11. Still in Monochrome (4:37)
  12. Untitled (1:50)

pop_unknown.txt · Last modified: 2019/04/07 15:36 by admin