User Tools

Seven Day Jesus

Huntington, West Virginia, USA

Seven Day Jesus was formed by childhood friends, singer and guitarist Brian McSweeney, rhythm guitarist Chris Beaty, bassist Wes Simpkins, and drummer Matt Sumpter. They began as a cover band, but soon began writing their own music.

Looking to break-out, the band released several albums, before being signed by 5 Minute Walk Records, an indie label in California. After releasing the critically acclaimed album (Hunger) in 1996, they were signed to ForeFront Records. In 1998, after a change in line-up, they released their self-titled album and changed their style significantly. The album spawned several hits, but the band quit recording soon after. The song, “Butterfly” was nominated for Rock Recorded Song of the Year at the 1999 Dove Music Awards, but lost to Jennifer Knapp's “Undo Me” from the Gotee Records release Kansas.

The band did reunite in 2004 and played at Bleach's final live performance. The band released a live album soon after. The album features two sets of songs from live performances in 1996 and 1998. There has been no further news as to the future of the band.

McSweeney and Sumpter now play in the rock band Matthew. Chris Beaty joined The O.C. Supertones in 2003 and played with them until they disbanded in 2005. He is currently a guitar technician for Switchfoot. Fox played guitar in The Red Velvet and ran Huntington's Broadmoor Recording Studio. McSweeney toured with Audio Adrenaline for their final shows.


1994 Demo
1994 Sustenance
1995 Seven Day Jesus
1996 The Hunger 5 Minute Walk Records
1997 Seven Day Jesus Forefront Records
2004 Seven Day Jesus Live


1994 Independent

Brian McSweeney - Lead vocals, lead guitar
Chris Beaty - Rhythm guitar
Wes Simpkins - Bass, vocals
Matt Sumpter - Drums, vocals

  1. George
  2. Light
  3. I Can’t Help
  4. Bag O’ Nails
  5. Salut Ça Va
  6. Fiesta


1994 Independent

Brian McSweeney - Vocals, guitar
Chris Beaty - Guitar
Wes Simpkins - Bass, vocals
Matt Sumpter - Drums, vocals

Christy - Guest violin

  1. Strength
  2. The Hunger
  3. George
  4. Light
  5. Pose
  6. Bag O' Nails
  7. Salut Ca Va
  8. Ashamed

Seven Day Jesus

1995 Independent

  1. Light
  2. A Time to Heal
  3. Strength
  4. The Hunger
  5. Pose
  6. George
  7. Ice Cream Man
  8. Bag o' Nails
  9. Salut Ca Va

The Hunger

1996 5 Minute Walk Records (FWD4903)

Brian McSweeney - Lead vocals, guitar
Chris Beaty - Guitar
Wes Simpkins - Bass, vocals
Matt Sumpter - Drums

  1. A Time to Heal (3:36)
  2. Strength (3:47)
  3. Flybye (5:02)
  4. Forgive Me (4:46)
  5. Forgive You (4:16)
  6. Pavement (3:59)
  7. The Hunger (3:24)
  8. Restrained (5:04)
  9. Delightful You (4:15)
  10. Ashamed (4:44)

Seven Day Jesus

1997 ForeFront Records (FFD5179)

Brian McSweeney — Vocals, lead guitar
Chris Beaty — Rhythm guitar
Russ Fox — Bass guitar
Kevin Adkins — Drums

  1. Down With the Ship (3:01)
  2. Always Comes Around (3:59)
  3. Butterfly (2:52)
  4. Everybody Needs Love (4:45)
  5. Who I Am (3:27)
  6. End of My Rope (3:52)
  7. Sea of Forgetfulness (5:45)
  8. I Will Find You (3:41)
  9. My Friend (4:14)
  10. You are the One (4:19)

Seven Day Jesus Live

2004 Independent

Tracks 1-6 recorded live in Texas in 1998
Tracks 7-12 recorded live in Florida in 1996

  1. Down With the Ship
  2. Always Comes Around
  3. Butterfly
  4. My Friend
  5. Flybye
  6. Ashamed
  7. A Time To Heal
  8. Strength
  9. Delightful You
  10. The Hunger
  11. Pavement
  12. Forgive You


Happy Christmas: A BEC Holiday Collection (BEC Records 1998)
11) O Holy Night (5:26)

Ten: The Birthday Album (Forefront Records 1998)
03) Big House (Audio Adrenaline cover) (3:47)