User Tools

Torn Flesh

Chesapeake, Ohio, USA

The Torn Flesh Story (from the liner notes of Love Kills):

“Once upon a time in Chesapeake, Ohio just after high school graduation in 1982, Greg Hudson had become convicted of some of the garbage being offered in the secular music market. At this time, he had been introduced to a new kind of music – Christian rock. One of Greg's good friends, Mike Brown, was preparing to go into the U.S.A. Air Force while at the same time his brother, Jim Brown, came home and had become a Christian while he was in the Air Force. He, too, had become convicted of many of the things affecting the young people today. As circumstances happened, Greg Hudson and Jim Brown formed Psalms 150 Ministry as an outreach to the youth being led down the path of destruction – we call it Hell.

As time went by, Psalms 150 Ministry began to reach thousands of young people every year and after gaining international attention on the NBC Today Show, other changes had followed. A street ministry had been formed in the streets of Huntington, WVA witnessing to teens partying and cruising down town. While down town, Greg and Jim met up with Aaron Brown, Jelece Brown, and Mike Holbrook – all doing the same thing we were doing – witnessing. Eventually we formed a team and attended the streets.

One cold night in early November of 1987, all of us were at Jim's apartment watching a Night Flight video show. The show portrayed a secular punk band on the road across America. The band had many fans following them and their message on a rampage contrary to God's Word. At this point we had all realized that there needs to be an alternative to this kind of music. After prayer and talking over ideas, we decided to form a radical band and offer explicit Christian lyrics to allow people to see that life is not following the world with its drugs, free sex, parties, and junk.

Life is not thrashing out and pounding your head against the wall, but life is Jesus Christ. Life is following Jesus Christ. Thus, Torn Flesh was born. Our first four song demo went out to 13 countries and our song “No Surfin' in Hell” has been released on Regency Music compilation LP titled Underground Metal. In late 1989, the release of our first national debut CD is sent out to the world to win battles in many lives that need to hear the gospel of Jesus Christ.”


1988 Thrashin' EP
1988 Love Kills Sack Cloth and Ashes
1989 Crux of the Mosh Narrowpath Records
1991 Road Kill (unreleased)

Thrashin’ EP

1988 Independent

Greg Hudson – Lead screams and grunts
Aaron Brown – Lead guitar, background screams
Mike Holbrook – Bass, background screams
Jim Brown – Drums, percussion, screams

  1. Living Active (2:27)
  2. Dead to the World (2:36)
  3. No Surfin' in Hell (2:50)
  4. Love Kills (3:43)
  5. Interview (14:19)

Love Kills

1988 Sack Cloth and Ashes

Greg Hudson - Vocals
Jayson Matthews - Guitars, backing vocals
Aaron Brown - Guitars, backing vocals
Mike Holbrook - Bass, backing vocals
Jim Brown - Drums, backing vocals

  1. Hollywood Heaven (2:25)
  2. Living Active (1:52)
  3. Eat and Run (1:51)
  4. Dead to the World (2:15)
  5. You are Not Alone (2:22)
  6. How Do You Feel (1:10)
  7. No Surfin in Hell (4:21)
  8. Sowing Machine (1:51)
  9. If I Could Just Say No (2:32)
  10. New Volume Zone (2:02)
  11. GODog (3:12)
  12. Where Worms Never Die (1:19)
  13. The Hammer (Prelude) (1:20)
  14. Love Kills (3:42)

Crux of the Mosh

1989 Narrowpath Records (790-060-2461)

Greg Hudson - Vocals
Jayson Matthews - Guitars, backing vocals
Aaron Brown - Guitars, backing vocals
Mike Holbrook - Bass, backing vocals
Jim Brown - Drums, backing vocals

  1. Torn Flesh (Crux of the Mosh) (2:56)
  2. End the Fight (3:18)
  3. World Pollution (6:00)
  4. Dead to the World (2:13)
  5. Fire Escape (4:35)
  6. Happy Birthday (0:54)
  7. Kill the Dead (2:48)
  8. Gay Rights? (2:34)
  9. Man's Best Friend (3:05)
  10. Innocent Eyes (5:28)
  11. Hollywood Heaven (2:35)
  12. The Ultimate Finale (2:22)

Road Kill

1991 unreleased

A follow-up album to Crux of the Mosh (their national debut CD) was planned and possibly recorded. This album went through several title changes between 1990 and 1991 - first being Trilogy of the Damned, then Wanted Dead and Alive, and the final known working title was Road Kill.