User Tools

Site Tools


Audio Paradox

Chicago, Illinois, USA

Audio Paradox is an electronic project based in Chicago. After writing tracks in the early 90’s, they began playing live in Texas in 1997. The Iniquity of Time was released in 1999, and Infinitesimal released in 2001, with the band becoming more of a studio entity. After a one-off 2006 show, Audio Paradox resurfaced with new material online.


1990 Audio Paradox
1997 Audio Paradox Flaming Fish Music
1999 The Iniquity of Time Flaming Fish Music
2001 Infinitesimal

Audio Paradox

1990 Independent

All music arranged, written, and performed by Josh Pyle, except
Dan Kueck - vocals on #1
Tony Wright - keyboard on #7
Barry LaMountain - Drums on #7
Pat Ferguson - Box and Saw on #11

  1. I Don't Understand
  2. The Empty World
  3. Dream
  4. Swimming Through a Sea of Sound
  5. End Times
  6. Spiritual Warfare
  7. Persecution
  8. The Only One
  9. Voice in the Wilderness
  10. Large Generators
  11. Statement One
  12. Red Beats
  13. Human Tragedy
  14. Die Fabrik
  15. One Forty

Audio Paradox

1997 Flaming Fish Music (FFMCS006)

Josh Pyle: Vocals, Programming, Sampling, Keyboards, Guitar
Kane Kelly: Guitar on tracks 1 & 3
Matthew Edwards: Keyboards, Backing Vocals

Joel Van Horn is credited for playing bass on this release, but he in fact did not appear.

  1. Parasitic (4:48)
  2. Grace One (4:08)
  3. Ageless (5:30)

“Somewhere in the midst of appearing on numerous compilations, Audio Paradox frontman Josh Pyle found the time to record this three-song demo.

Although Audio Paradox's sound could best be described as a mix of electro-goth and industrial, each song has its own unique sound. This diversity can readily be seen throughout the three pieces found on this cassette.

The demo's first track, entitled “Parasitic”, is a great piece of dark, futuristic electro-industrial. Eerie synths, sampled guitar riffs, and electronic, heavily-processed vocals make this track unforgettable.

The next song, “Grace One”, was originally featured on the Electro-Shock Therapy compilation. Although the synths can still be heard on this song, the guitars are much more prominent and the vocals more easy to understand. The result is a cool industrial-rock sound reminiscent of The Way Sect Bloom.

The demo's final song, “Ageless”, does a good job of combining the sounds of the two previous songs. Also included on Flaming Fish's Full Frontal Lobotomy compilation, it features some cool dance beats, subdued guitar riffs, and brooding, almost gothic vocals. The sound is similar to what Depeche Mode might sound like if they teamed up with Sisters of Mercy.

While all of these songs can also be heard on other recordings, Audio Paradox's diversity shows much promise for the band. I hope it won't be long before we hear a full-length release from them.”

– James McGinnis (

The Iniquity of Time

1999 Flaming Fish Music

Matthew Edwards - Backing Vocals, Keyboards, Programming
River Tunnell - Bass, Guitar
Josh Pyle - Guitar, Keyboards, Programming, Vocals, Samples

  1. Time To Burn (5:09)
  2. Collision (4:02)
  3. Parasitic (4:45)
  4. Transgression (5:38)
  5. Grace One (4:10)
  6. Underlines (4:43)
  7. Cached Influx (4:31)
  8. Threshold (3:48)
  9. Ageless (5:32)
  10. Parasitic (Fistful Of Spaghetti Mix) (3:20)


2001 Independent

Josh Pyle: Programming, Keyboards, Lead Vocals
Matthew Edwards: Keyboards, Programming, Backing Vocals
Kris Rosentrater: Drums
Kane Kelly: Guitar

  1. Division 0f Vision (5:14)
  2. Consumed (4:14)
  3. Controller (6:05)
  4. Tshuvah (7:48)
  5. Human Decay (3:04)
  6. Reason (4:45)
  7. Mirror (5:20)

Released at Cornerstone Festival, 2001
CDr w/ printed label in white cardstock sleeve
Band name and disc name done in stamped tape on front
Song order printed in silver ink on back
Limited to 100 copies

Originally released in 2001 as a CDr w/ printed label in white cardstock sleeve. Limited to 100 copies.

audio_paradox.txt · Last modified: 2019/03/03 01:42 by admin