User Tools

Site Tools


The Way Sect Bloom

Industrial Rock
New York City, New York, USA

The Way Sect Bloom was a uniquely-styled industrial band. The idea for the band came to the band's originator, Jeff Bruce, in 1993. Jeff, who started as a bass player and got more involved in keyboards and programming, was suddenly turned onto industrial when friend Scott Albert released the first Circle of Dust CD. Jeff says, “Industrial amazes me. It's so different and has so much variety to offer. I couldn't resist getting involved.” Jeff was influenced by industrialists like Circle of Dust, Mortal, Chatterbox, Skinny Puppy, and Front Line Assembly.

The Way Sect Bloom actually started in the winter of 1994. Jeff, after years of learning and investing in equipment, decided it was time to take a shot at music. He wrote a song titled “Subsidize” and sent it out. Tooth & Nail Records picked it up and put it on a compilation CD called Artcore.

As time went on it was necessary for others to join the band. The first was a former punk/alternative guitarist named Joe Gallagher. The next addition was a Depeche Mode-style keyboard player named Michael Cruz. The three combined a variety of styles to create a new branch in the industrial realm.

In November of 1995, however, the band dispersed to the point where it was back to just Jeff Bruce. Given the opportunity to explore ideas on his own again, The Way Sect Bloom had plans to move off in yet another direction. “I want the songs to become more industrial. I want it to be a variety of stuff with acoustic here and there and actual singing.”

Philosophically, The Way Sect Bloom felt their purpose was to share their faith in Christ the way they know best. They were an outreach band aimed towards non-Christian young people. “We feel we have a style musically and lyrically that is going to attract kids and not turn them off to Christ.”



1995 Independent

  1. God
  2. Frustrated
  3. Breathless
  4. Worldgod

The Way Sect Bloom

1996 Flaming Fish Music (ffmcs003)

Jeff Bruce – Guitars, vocals, keyboards, programming, sequencing
Joe Gallagher – Additional guitars and vocals
Mike Cruz – Additional keyboards and vocals

  1. Subsidize
  2. Frustrate
  3. Washed
  4. Illumina
  5. Frustrate (reality edit)


1997 Flaming Fish Music (FFMCD002)

Jeff Bruce - Vocals, guitar, programming

Trish Bruce - Backing vocals on “Effloresce”
Joe Gallagher - Guitars on “Frustrate” and “Washed”
Mike Cruz - Keyboards on “Frustrate” and “Washed”
Scott Albert - Keyboards on “Washed”

Produced by Fuzzco and Mike Cruz

  1. Live (3:56)
  2. Subsidize (4:19)
  3. Frustrate (4:46)
  4. Effloresce (5:18)
  5. Under My Skin (Reconsctructive Cut) (4:55)
  6. Illumina (Defenseless) (5:47)
  7. Humanness (3:54)
  8. Washed (3:56)
  9. Worldgod (4:04)
  10. Frustrate (Reality) (26:37)

the_way_sect_bloom.txt · Last modified: 2019/04/02 01:35 by admin