User Tools

Site Tools



Alternative Funk Metal
Kansas City, Missouri, USA

DigHayZoose was a Christian funk and modern rock band from Kansas City, Missouri. Their name, when spoken, is audibly similar to saying “Dig Jesus” in Spanish.

The band signed to Brainstorm Artists International in 1991 and produced their first album, StruggleFish, with Terry Scott Taylor. The album was widely described as essentially a clone of the Red Hot Chili Peppers or Janes Addiction. They subsequently toured nationally with bands such as Scaterd Few and played festivals including the Cornerstone Festival. The band found their own groove by their second album, MagentaMantaLoveTree. Magenta was co-produced with Gene Eugene and is considered more emotional than their first. The bands' sound fuses punk rock and freestyle jazz to create their own brand of neo-psychedelic rock, as in the songs “Black-Eyed Pea” and “Secret.” They also covered Steve Taylor's “I Want To Be A Clone” for the 1994 tribute I Predict a Clone. In later concerts, Taylor's version came to resemble DigHayZoose's more than his own. Jeremy Walla of Ethereal Soul joined DigHayZoose as a second guitarist on their national tour in 1994.

DigHayZoose was released from their contract in 1994 and announced their breakup at the Cornerstone festival that year. At the same time Ascension 7: Rocketship to Heaven, their final release, was recorded. Ascension 7 includes guests Dan Michaels of The Choir and Allan Aguirre of Scaterd Few. They began to search for a new record label, and in 1995 added David Coonce (known as “Zoop”) as a fifth member. An underproduced demo, which consisted of five songs of modern praise, received what the band later characterized as a “lukewarm reception.” When David Andersen left the band in 1996 they reformed under the name Infrared and recorded a demo before disbanding in 1997.

In 2005 the band reunited to rerecord their Infrared era material.

Bil Brown also participated in the initial forming of “neopsychedelic” Christian Kansas City group Hot Pink Turtle. Hot Pink Turtle released one album, Ticklewigglejigglepickle, in 1993 on R.E.X. Music, and covered Steve Taylor's “A Principled Man” on the same Steve Taylor tribute album as DigHayZoose. One reviewer concisely described its diversity as “a hodgepoge of music and meanings”. Bil's other efforts include the rockabilly band The Silvermen (for which Coonce played lead guitar), and most recently, leading worship and creative arts at Desperation Church in Liberty, MO. The Silvermen formed in 1998, signed to Ashland Records, and released one album with Bil on bass, Pioneers of the Intergalactic Frontier, in 2000. Pioneers was a science fiction based album with a variety of sounds, much like DigHayZoose.

Hot Pink Turtle also included Dion Tyler on bass, who formed a band called Band with Dave Anderson in 1997. They released one album and disbanded in about 1999. Phil Schlotterer founded a band called The Sky Kings (later changed to The Daybirds) which was reported to have a strong local following in 2000. The Daybirds released at least one album, turnstyle (1999) and an EP, you rock, in 2002. Phil left the band by 2004.

Florez, Andersen, Tyler, and Donovan White also formed a band called Sundowner. They had not recorded material as of 2000. Later in 2010 White formed a band known as “Mavens” with Tyler in the band along with a few others they won recording time from a band competition and earned 1st Place.


1991 First Demo
1991 Strugglefish Pre-Production Demo 1
1991 Strugglefish Pre-Production Demo 2
1991 StruggleFish Brainstorm Artists International
1993 MagentaMantaLoveTree Brainstorm Artists International
1995 Ascension 7: Rocketship to Heaven Brainstorm Artists International

First Demo

1991 Independent

Phil Schlotterer - Vocals
David G. Andersen - Guitar, vocals
Bil Brown - Bass, vocals
Jim Florez - Drums, vocals

  1. Think About It
  2. Zeptune
  3. Buddha Express
  4. Dad Song
  5. Ghost

Strugglefish Pre-Production Demo 1

1991 Independent

Phil Schlotterer – Vocals
David G. Andersen – Guitar, vocals
Bil Brown – Bass, vocals
Jim Florez – Drums, vocals

  1. Strugglefish
  2. H.T.P.
  3. You Said
  4. Think About It Again


1991 Brainstorm Artists International (7100525675)

Phil Schlotterer - Lead vocals
Dave Andersen - Guitar, whoops, backing vocals
Bil Brown - Bass, backing vocals
Jim Flores - Drums, percussion, backing vocals

Produced by Terry Scott Taylor

Glen “Mustahfah” Dixon - Tambourine, electric triangle, lyricon, and tuba on “D.H.Z.”
Brian Miller, Bub Pricilly Disco, Dr. Edward Daniel Taylor, Ike Willis, Jeff Sauer, Tony Shore, and White-Bread Dread Asad - Background finesse on “D.H.Z.”
Peter Banks - 2nd Solo on “StruggleFish”
Camarillo Eddy - Acoustic Guitar on “Dad Song”
Otter Boy, Tom Peeper, and Wiggly Elroy - Background Madness on “Express”

  1. Think About It (3:00)
  2. Psychedelic Mommy (3:25)
  3. Water's Way (Part 1) (1:12)
  4. Water's Way (Part 2) (3:46)
  5. Slow Serious (4:38)
  6. D.H.Z. (4:37)
  7. Zeptune (4:22)
  8. Struggle Fish (4:56)
  9. Dad Song (3:47)
  10. Love Song (5:34)
  11. Express (3:12)
  12. Brighter Daze (5:54)


1993 Brainstorm Artists International (7100535670)

Phil - Lead vocals, backing vocals, bottle, crazy drum, sticks
Dave A - Guitar, disco backing vocals, handclaps
Bil Brown - Bass, human temple block, RCA dog-head, sticks, big ol' drum, backing vocals
Jimmi Florez - drums, shaker, bongos, trashcans, sticks, metal objects & anything else available, backing vocals

Produced by DigHayZoose and Gene Eugene

Rob Watson - Keyboards; clownboxes; anecdotes on “Slatherage,” “Lift,” “Secret,” and “H8 Machine;” 4th vocals on “Secret”
Terry Scott Taylor - 1st vocals on “Secret”
Anna Cardenas - 2nd vocals on “Secret”
Dan Michaels - Saxophone on “Secret”
Riki Michele - Backing vocals on “Diggin' Away”
Dan Michaels - Saxophone on “Diggin' Away”
Mexico - 2nd rap on “Black-Eyed Pea”
DJ Cartoon - Scratches, remix, and 1st rap on “Black-Eyed Pea”

  1. Beginning (0:16)
  2. Dancing in Concert With the Infinite (4:42)
  3. Whoompfinashun # 7 (0:11)
  4. Slatherage (7:31)
  5. Brave Strong Song (0:08)
  6. Lift (4:58)
  7. Magenta Manta Love Tree (8:34)
  8. No One Told You? (0:10)
  9. Secret (4:40)
  10. Detention 3:00 A.M. (0:25)
  11. Penalty Box (0:32)
  12. Circle of Pain (4:41)
  13. Doubt (5:55)
  14. Diggin' Away (3:05)
  15. Vanillanator (0:09)
  16. H8 Machine (3:27)
  17. Untitled (0:20)
  18. Black-Eyed Pea (5:45)
  19. 99¢ Smile (0:18)
  20. B.D.O.C. (2:34)
  21. Regret (5:41)
  22. Twenty-second Track (0:49)

Ascension 7: Rocketship To Heaven

1995 Brainstorm Artists International (BRD4019)

Phil - Vocals, toy megaphone
Dave Andersen - Guitar, vocals
Bil Brown - Bass, vocals
Jim Florez - Drums, vocals

Dan Michaels - Saxophone
Alan Aguirre - Vocals

  1. Intro/Dancing in Concert With the Infinite (5:08)
  2. Strugglefish (5:00)
  3. Slow Serious (4:36)
  4. Whoo Woo (0:15)
  5. Slatherage (7:54)
  6. Magentamantalovetree (14:17)
  7. Self (1:26)
  8. Beware of Strangers Bearing Gifts (0:28)
  9. Later [L.A. 1994] (3:52)
  10. Circle of Pain (4:38)
  11. Secret (4:30)
  12. Intro to Regret (1:35)
  13. Regret (5:39)

dighayzoose.txt · Last modified: 2023/03/23 14:44 by admin